Microwave Mac and Cheese/ Quick Mac and Cheese

Microwave Mac and Cheese

I came across this recipe from The Kitchn. I quadrupled the recipe and tried it. The result was a creamy mac and cheese. When I make comfort foods, I don’t count calories. I used whole milk. But 2% milk should be fine too.

The original recipe says to cook the pasta al dente. But I fully cooked the pasta.  I like it that way.

I love mustard. So, I added Dijon mustard as well. You can add your favorite mustard.

Below are the ingredients for single serve mac and cheese.

Ingredients:

  • Elbow macaroni – 1/2 cup
  • Water – 1/2 cup
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp
  • Milk – 1/4 cup, any type of milk
  • Medium Cheddar cheese – 1/2 cup, shredded
  • Dijon mustard – 1/2 tsp (optional)

Method:

  • In a microwave safe bowl; mix macaroni, water and salt.
  • Microwave in 2 minute increments and stirring each time until the pasta is al dente.
  • If the water evaporates before the pasta is cooked, add a tbsp of water to cook it.
  • Stir in milk, cheddar cheese and Dijon mustard.
  • Microwave in 30 seconds interval until the cheese melts and turns creamy. Stir each time you heat it up.
  • Do not overheat the mac and cheese after you add milk and cheese.

 

Leave a Reply

