Spicy Cucumber Sticks

Spicy cucumber sticks

This post might seem silly to some but I am going to post it for those who are not aware of a common street food in India. In most parts of India you can find cucumber and raw mango slices coated with chili powder and salt being sold  by street vendors especially during the summer season. This can served at parties for adults as finger food.

Slice cucumbers or raw mangoes. Mix chili powder/ paprika and salt in a bowl. Sprinkle them on the cucumber or mango slices.  Season according to taste. Enjoy!

For a mix of sweet and spicy taste, the same can be used on sweet mangoes too.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Cucumber Sticks

  1. This is one street food I never had . though it is a favourite at home. And I make it often. There were very few street foods I let my kids have. Though in my school days street food was a treat and I never wondered if the guava or mango was washed. Only the iced candy was forbidden as my mother doubted the quality of water.

  2. umamithun says:

    Hmmmm…..you are right. The thought whether the fruits were washed never crossed my mind when I was in school. Treats like mangoes, cucumbers, peanuts and samosa’s were part of growing up and there were street vendors outside my school who appear everyday before the last school bell. During our India trip, I let my daughter eat steamed peanuts from a street vendor. She is 4 years old and she was fine and enjoyed it a lot. May be I will let her try other food when she gets older.

Leave a Reply

